Nobel Prizes

By the terms of Alfred Nobel’s will the Nobel Prizes in Physics and Chemistry have been awarded by the Academy since 1901. The awarding ceremony takes place on 10 December, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death. Each prize can be shared by three laureates at the most. The Laureates are announced here and at every year in mid-October immediately after they have been chosen. Since 1969, the Academy also awards the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Memory of Alfred Nobel, which is presented at the menu Prize in Economic Sciences.