The members of the Academy are divided by scientific disciplines into ten classes, all of which are represented in the Academy Board. About ten times a year all Swedish members are called to a General Meeting, which is the Academy's highest decision-making body.

The Academy meets at the General Meeting about 10 times a year to make decisions about election of new members, awards, and other matters of special importance. The General Meeting is the Academy’s highest decision-making body.

Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences organisation chart. Click on the image for a larger version.

The President is the chair of the Academy and leads both Academy meetings and board meetings. The President is assisted by three Vice-Presidents. They as well as the President are elected to hold office for fixed terms.

The Secretary General, the chief executive officer of the Academy, is in charge of the Academy administration and responsible for executing the decisions taken by the Academy.

The Presiding Committee consists of the President, the three Vice-Presidents and the Secretary General. They prepare questions before meetings of the board and coordinates representation concerning national and international scientific connections.

The Academy Board consists of the President, the three Vice-Presidents, the Secretary General and one member from each of the Academy’s ten Classes. The Board is responsible for planning activities and for efficient use of available resources.

The Academy’s members are involved in classes and committees that initiate investigations, provide responses to consultations, organise conferences, and seminars.

The Secretariat, headed by the Secretary General, provides administrative support for the Academy and handles communications, administration, financial management and programme activities.

The Academy Board

  • Birgitta Henriques Normark, President
  • Hans Ellegren, Secretary General
  • Sven Lidin, 1:st Vice-President
  • Per Strömberg, 2:nd Vice-President
  • Ulf Ellervik, 3:rd Vice-President
  • Kurt Johansson, Class for mathematics
  • Göran Östlin, Class for astronomy and space science
  • Claes Fahlander, Class for physics
  • Johan Elf, Class for chemistry
  • Vivi Vajda, Class for geosciences
  • Stefan Jansson, Class for biosciences
  • Anna Wedell, Class for medical sciences
  • Danica Kragic Jensfelt, Class for engineering sciences
  • Li Bennich-Björkman, Class for social sciences
  • Arne Jarrick, Class for humanities and for outstanding services to science


The Academy have five permanent committees engaged in some of the Academy’s primary activities:

The Academy also works with the Human Rights Committee of Sweden’s Scientific and Literary Academies, which consists of representatives from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities, the Swedish Academy and the Young Academy of Sweden.