"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

Nobel Prizes

By the terms of Alfred Nobel’s will the Nobel Prizes in Physics and Chemistry have been awarded by the Academy since 1901. The awarding ceremony takes place on 10 December, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death. Each prize can be shared by three laureates at the most. The Laureates are announced here and at Nobelprize.org every year in mid-October immediately after they have been chosen. Since 1969, the Academy also awards the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Memory of Alfred Nobel, which is presented at the menu Prize in Economic Sciences.

The Nobel Prizes 2014

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014 will be announced Tuesday 7 October, 11:45 AM CET (at the earliest) and The Nobel Prize in Chemistry will be announced Wed 8 October, 11:45 AM CET (at the earliest). The announcements will be broadcasted live here at kva.se

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013

Illustration: Johan JarnestadThe Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2013 to François Englert, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgien and Peter W. Higgs, University of Edinburgh,UK "for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider". 

Press release
Popular Science Background (pdf)
Scientific Background (pdf)

Read more about this year's prize in Physics in Physica Scripta

The Higgs Bridge
Comprehensive review article by Roland E. Allen that provides an accessible overview of the science of the Higgs Boson, including how it affects the Standard Model, and what it could mean for our future understanding of the universe.

Nobel Symposium 154: Physics of the Large Hadron Collider
A topical issue featuring papers from the invited speakers at this annual event.

Physica Scripta's website

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013

Illustration: Johan JarnestadThe Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2013 to
Martin Karplus, Université de Strasbourg, France and Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA, Michael Levitt, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA, USA and Arieh Warshel, University of Southern California,Los Angeles, CA, USA "for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems".

Press release
Popular Science Background (pdf)
Scientific Background (pdf)

Nobel Posters

Why have the Laureates received the world’s most prestigious prize? Posters explaining the prize contributions in physics, chemistry and economic sciences are produced annually in Swedish and English.

Nobel Posters

Nobel Lectures

The Nobel Lectures are held in Aula Magna, Stockholm University.In connection with the awarding ceremonies in December each year, the Nobel Prize and Economics laureates hold their prize lectures. Since 1999 the lectures available on the Internet at Nobelprize.org.


Nominating and awarding 

Marie Curie, Nobel Laureate in physics 1903 and chemistry 1911. The nomination and selection of the Nobel laureates is to a large extent handled by the Nobel Committees of the Academy. Each year the committees send invitations to thousands of scientists, members of academies and university professors in numerous countries, asking them to nominate candidates for the Nobel Prize for the coming year. Those who are competent to submit nominations are chosen in such a way that as many countries and universities as possible will be represented. Members of the Academy and former laureates are also authorised to nominate candidates.


The nominations received by each committee are then investigated with the help of specially appointed experts. When the committees have made their selection among the nominated candidates and have presented their recommendation to the Academy, a vote is taken for the final choice of laureates. The Academy's decisions are announced and published on the Academy’s and the Nobel Foundation’s web sites immediately after the vote in mid-October each year.

Kungl. Vetenskapsakademien