The Academy consists of approximately 480 Swedish and 175 foreign members, who together represent the country’s foremost expertise in the sciences.

Go directly to the contact list for all members

The Academy’s members are divided into ten scientific disciplines, called classes. They are also involved in the Academy’s committees that initiate investigations, provide responses to consultations, organise conferences and seminars. The members are also involved in the processes of selecting candidates for the Academy’s prizes.

The Academy’s classes

Honorary members

Since 1810, the Academy has elected members of the Swedish royal family as honorary members. Following a change in the Academy’s rules in 2019, members of the Royal family and other particularly deserving persons may be elected honorary members of the Academy. Currently, H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria and Peter Wallenberg Jr. are honorary members of the Academy. They were elected in 2008 and 2022, respectively.