"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

The Sjöberg Prize

The Sjöberg Prize is an annual international prize in cancer research awarded to individual researchers or research groups. The price amounts to one million US dollars, of which 100,000 US dollars is the prize sum and 900,000 US dollars is funding for future research.

The first Sjöberg Prize, totalling 1 million US dollars, is awarded for discoveries that have led to new and effective cancer treatments

Illustration: Johan Jarnestad.The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Sjöberg Prize 2017 to James P. Allison, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX, USA and Tony Hunter, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, CA, USA “for groundbreaking studies of cellular processes that have led to the development of new and effective cancer drugs”.

Press release
Popular Science Background (pdf)

The Inaugural Sjöberg Prize Lectures

James P. Allison. Photo: The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Tony Hunter. Photo: Joe Belcovson, Salk Institute for Biological Studies.On 30 March the official Sjöberg Prize Lectures will be held by this year’s laureates: James P. Allison and Tony Hunter. The lectures are open and followed by a reception.

Read more

About the Sjöberg Prize

Bengt Sjöberg, the founder of the Sjöberg Prize. Photo: Hans ReuterskiöldThe prize is funded by The Sjöberg Foundation, and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences is responsible for deciding upon the Sjöberg Laureates. The Foundation was founded in 2016, and the first prize will be announced on 14 February, 2017.

The prize award ceremony will take place during the Academy’s Annual meeting on 31 March, 2017 in the presence of H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf and H.M. Queen Silvia.

Press release: Bengt Sjöberg donates SEK 2 billion to cancer research

The Sjöberg Foundation