"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

Prize in Economic Sciences

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was instituted in 1968, at the tercentenary of the bank. The awarding ceremony takes place on 10 December, the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death. The laureates in economic sciences are announced and published on the Academy’s and the Nobel Foundation web sites every year in mid-October immediately after they have been chosen.

Nobel Lectures

The Nobel Lectures are held in Aula Magna, Stockholm University.In connection with the awarding ceremonies in December each year, the Nobel Prize and Economics Laureates hold their prize lectures. Since 1999 the lectures available on the Internet at Nobelprize.org. The official Nobel Lectures by this year's Laureates in Physics, Chemistry and Economic Sciences will be held at Aula Magna in Stockholm, December 8, and will be webcast live here at kva.se and be available as video on demand at KVATV.

The Nobel Lectures 2016

The Prize in Economic Sciences 2015

Illustration: Johan Jarnestad.The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2016 to Oliver Hart, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA, and Bengt Holmström, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA “for their contributions to contract theory”

Press release
Popular Science Background (pdf)
Scientific Background (pdf)

Prize Poster

Why have the Laureates of the Prize in Economic Sciences received the world’s most prestigious prize? Nobel Posters explaining the Prize in Economic Sciences is produced annually.

The 2016 posters will be published by the end of November.

Nobel Posters

Nominating and awarding

The nomination and selection of the Prize in Economic Sciences Laureates is to a large extent handled by the Prize Committee at the Academy. Each year the committee send invitations to thousands of scientists, members of academies and university professors in numerous countries, asking them to nominate candidates for the Prize in Economic Sciences for the coming year. Members of the Academy and former laureates are also authorised to nominate candidates.

The nominations received by the committee are then investigated with the help of specially appointed experts. When the committee have made their selection among the nominated candidates and have presented their recommendation to the Academy, a vote is taken for the final choice of laureates. The Academy's decisions are announced and published on the Academy’s and the Nobel Foundation’s web sites immediately after the vote in mid-October each year.