"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

Gregori Aminoff Prize

The Gregori Aminoff Prize is intended to reward a documented, individual contribution in the field of crystallography, including areas concerned with the dynamics of the formation and dissolution of crystal structures. Some preference should be shown for work evincing elegance in the approach to the problem.

The prize may be awarded either to an individual Swedish or foreign researcher, or to a joint research group of no more than three persons. The Gregori Aminoff Prize was awarded for the first time in 1979.

Latest prize

Poul Nissen and Chikashi ToyoshimaThe Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Gregori Aminoff Prize in crystallography 2016 to Professor Poul Nissen, Aarhus University, Denmark, and Professor Chikashi Toyoshima, University of Tokyo, Japan, “for their fundamental contributions to understanding the structural basis for ATP-driven translocation of ions across membranes”. The prize amount to in total 100.000SEK.

Read the press release


Nominating and awarding

The Academy appoints a prize committee that prepares proposals for nominations and, during the autumn, the Academy selects a laureate/s. The prize is presented at the Academy's annual ceremonial meeting the following spring.


Hanna Oskarsson
Prize Coordinator
Tel: +46 8 673 97 40