"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"


Being elected a member of the Academy constitutes exclusive recognition of successful achievements. These could be prominent research in mathematics, natural science, engineering, social science or humanities, but also outstanding services to science.

The Academy has today about 450 Swedish and 175 foreign members. Since the start in 1739, about 1.600 Swedes have been elected to membership. The members are divided into ten scientific disciplines, called classes:

Astronomy and space science 
Medical sciences 
Engineering sciences 
Social sciences 
Humanities and for outstanding services to science

New members

Professor Heiner Linke, Lund University. Photo: Mikael RisedalAt the General Meeting on 10 September Terence Tao, University of California, Los Angeles, was elected to the Academy's Class for mathematics. Örjan Gustafsson, Stockholm University and H. John B. Birks, University of Bergen, was elected to the Academy's Class for geosciences.

Read the full article

Kungl. Vetenskapsakademien