Two physicists and one expert in political science elected to the Academy

At the General Meeting on 16 January Lene Vestergaard Hau, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA, Gunnar Ingelman, Uppsala University, Sweden and Daniel Tarschys, Stockholm University, Sweden were elected to the Academy.


Class for physics (III)
Lene Vestergaard Hau
is Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics and Applied Physics at Hau Lab, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA. She has carried out very successful experiments on manipulation of photons (light particles) describing their behaviour. The results have been of major importance for atom physics and its applications of basic quantum mechanics, which describes the behaviour of matter and energy in microcosmos. She has also made efforts in popularizing science.


Class for physics (III)
Gunnar Ingelman
, Professor of Subatomic Physics at Department of Physics and Astronomy, Uppsala University, Sweden.

Class for humanities and for outstanding services to science (X)
Daniel Tarschys,
Professor of Political Sciences at Department of Political Sciences, Stockholm University, Sweden.
Personal website