Six new researchers elected to the Academy

At the General Meeting on 18 January 2012 Per Ahlberg, Uppsala University, Kerstin Lindblad-Toh, Uppsala University, Bernt Eric Uhlin, Umeå University, Sven Widmalm, Uppsala University, Donald E. Canfield, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark and Stanislav Smirnov, University of Geneva, Switzerland, were elected members of the Academy.

Swedish members

Class for biosciences

Per Ahlberg is Professor of Evolutionary Organismal Biology at Evolutionary Biology Centre, Uppsala University.

Kerstin Lindblad-Toh is Professor of Comparative Genomics at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Microbiology, Uppsala University and Director of Vertebrate Genome Biology, Broad Institute, Cambridge, MA, USA.

Bernt Eric Uhlin is Professor of Medical Microbiology at the Department of Molecular Biology, Umeå University.

Class for humanities and for outstanding services to science

Sven Widmalm is Professor at the Department of History of Science and Ideas, Uppsala University.

Foreign members

Class for geosciences

Donald E. Canfield is Professor at the Institute of Biology, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark. Canfield is one of the world’s most prominent geochemists. His research area encompasses the wide and complex field of the hydrosphere’s and the atmosphere’s evolution in interplay with the biosphere. Canfield has made groundbreaking contributions regarding the geobiological cycles of biologically active elements like sulfur, iron and carbon, in particular concerning their fluctuation through the Earth’s history.

Class for mathematics

Stanislav Smirnov is Professor at the Section de mathématiques, Université de Genève, Switzerland. Smirnov’s research focuses on the fields of complex analysis, dynamical systems and probability theory. One of his most important accomplishments was performed at the Royal Swedish Institute of Technology: his work on critical percolation theory, in which he proved Cardy’s formula for critical site percolation on the triangular lattice, and deduced conformal invariance. The conjecture was proved in the special case of site percolation on the triangular lattice.