New members of the Class for physics and the Class for medical sciences

At the General meeting on 11 May new members were elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Stephanie Reimann is new Swedish member and Hiranya Peiris new Foreign member of the Class for Physics. Nobel laureate Elizabeth H. Blackburn and Olli Kallioniemi are new Foreign members of the Class for medical sciences. 

Class for physics

Stephanie Reimann. Foto: Åsa Wallin

Swedish member

Stephanie Reimann is Professor in Mathematical Physics at Lund University,

Stephanie Reimann, Lund University 


Hiranya Peiris. Foto: Niklas Björling

Foreign member

Hiranya Peiris, is Professor in Astro Physics at Stockholm University and University College London

Hiranya Peiris, University College London

Class of medical sciences

Elizabeth Blackburn

Foreign members

Elizabeth H. Blackburn is a Professor in Biochemistry and Biophysics at University of California, San Fransisco, USA. She was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2009 together with Carol W. Greider and Jack W. Szostak.

Elizabeth H. Blackburn, University of California

Olli Kallioniemi. Foto: Niclas Norberg

Olli Kallioniemi, is a Professor at Karolinska Institutet and Director of Science for Life Laboratory (SciLifeLab) in Solna, Sweden.

Olli Kallioniemi, SciLife Lab