Five new members elected to the Academy

At the General Meeting on 15 January Andreas Strömbergsson, Uppsala University, Mark Pearce, KTH, Markus Heilig, Linköping University, Gunilla Karlsson Hedestam, Karolinska Institutet and Ilona Riipinen, Stockholm University were elected members of the Academy’s classes for mathematics, physics, medical sciences and geosciences.

Class for mathematics

Swedish members

Andreas Strömbergsson. Photo: David Naylor

Andreas Strömbergsson is Professor of Mathematics at Uppsala University.

Andreas Strömbergsson, Uppsala University

Class for Physics

Swedish members

Mark Pearce. Photo: Madeleine Sidolik

Mark Pearce is Professor of Physics, focusing on astroparticle physics, at the Department of Physics, KTH and deputy Head of School at the School of Engineering Sciences, KTH.

Mark Pearce, KTH

Class for medical sciences

Svenska ledamöter

Markus Heilig. Photo: Peter Holgersson

Markus Heilig is Professor of Neuro Psychiatry and head of Center for Social and Affective Neuroscience at Linköping University. He is also senior consultant at the psychiatric clinic at Linköping University Hospital.

Markus Heilig, Linköpings universitet

Gunilla Karlsson-Hedestam. Photo: Erik Flyg

Gunilla Karlsson Hedestam is Professor in Vaccine Immunology at the Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology (MTC), Karolinska Institutet.

Gunilla Karlsson Hedestam Group, Karolinska Institutet

Class for geosciences

Foreign member

Ilona Riipinen. Photo: Casia Bromberg

Ilona Riipinen is Professor at the Department of Environmental Science (ACES), Stockholm University.

Ilona Riipinen, Stockholm University