The Crafoord Prize Symposium in Polyarthritis: Autoinflammatory diseases

Date: 2022-04-26

Time: 09:00 - 16:45

Address: Tegnérsplatsen 6, Lund

Venue: Kulturen i Lund

Lectures by the 2021 Crafoord Laureate in Polyarthritis and invited speakers.

The symposium is organized in conjunction with the award of the Crafoord Prize in Polyarthritis. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2021 Crafoord Prize in Polyarthritis to Daniel L. Kastner, National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, USA, “for establishing the concept of autoinflammatory diseases”.


Opening address
Hans Ellegren, Secretary General, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Introduction of the Crafoord Laureate
Olle Kämpe, Chair of the Crafoord Prize Committee in Polyarthritis

Autoinflammatory Disease and the Human Condition
Crafoord Laureate Daniel L. Kastner, National Human Genome Research Institute, USA

Coffee break

Inflammasome activation in autoinflammatory diseases: from signaling pathways to functional diagnosis
Mohamed Lamkanfi, Ghent University, Belgium

Autoinflammation and Autoimmunity: Psoriatic Skin and Joint Disease at the Midpoint of the Spectrum
Harald Burkhardt, University Hospital Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Lunch, included for registered participants

The human type I interferonopathies

Yanick Crow, University of Edinburgh, UK
Online presentation.

Transglutaminases as targets in autoimmune disease
Nils Landegren, Uppsala University, Sweden

Genetics of Behçet’s Disease, a Journey On and Off the Silk Roads
Elaine Remmers, National Human Genome Research Institute, USA

Coffee break

Intracellular Complement and Immune Regulation
Claudia Kemper, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, USA

Defects in lymphocyte cytotoxicity as a cause of hyperinflammation
Yenan Bryceson, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Genetic and immunological causes of life-threatening COVID-19
Jean-Laurent Casanova, The Rockefeller University, USA and Necker Hospital, Paris, France

End of symposium

Moderators: Olle Kämpe, Chair of the Crafoord Prize Committee, Solbritt Rantapää Dahlqvist, Member of the Crafoord Prize Committee, Qiang Pan Hammarström, Karolinska Institutet, Anna Blom, Lund University, Rikard Holmdahl, Member of the Crafoord Prize Committee.

The event is free of charge and open to the public but registration is required for all participants. Please state eventual food preferences or allergies in the registration form.

For the safety of all attendees, we expect that all participants in the symposium are fully vaccinated against COVID-19.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences follows The Public Health Agency of Swedens guidelines regarding the spread of covid-19. This means that events at short notice can be changed or adapted. The information on is continuously updated, and registered participants will be notified by e-mail of any changes as soon as possible. 

The Crafoord Prize is awarded in partnership between the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation in Lund. The Academy is responsible for selecting the Crafoord Laureates.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences occasionally record and photograph during its events. Photographs and video footage will be processed by the Academy and submitted to third parties for processing. Photographs and videos may also be used in our communication activities to provide information about the Academy’s activities in any of the digital and/or printed channels used by the Academy. If you do not consent to this or have other questions about our processing of personal data, please call us on +46 8 673 95 00, or email

Read more about how the Academy processes your personal data 


Peter Brandén
Program Coordinator