The Crafoord Prize Symposium in Astronomy: New avenues in solar and stellar physics

Date: 2024-05-15

Time: 09:00 - 17:05

Address: The Royal Swedish Academy Of Sciences, 4 A, Lilla Frescativägen, Stockholm

Venue: The Beijer Hall

Last date for registration: 2024-04-29 23:00

Choose between the different lectures by clicking on the list in the top right corner of the player.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2024 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy to Douglas Gough, University of Cambridge, UK, Jørgen Christensen-Dalsgaard, Aarhus University, Denmark, and Conny Aerts, KU Leuven, Belgium, “for developing the methods of asteroseismology and their application to the study of the interior of the Sun and of other stars.”

Read more about this years Crafoord Prize in Astronomy>



Opening address
Birgitta Henriques Normark, President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Introduction of the Crafoord Laureates
Nikolai Piskunov, Member of the Crafoord Prize Committee in Astronomy

Listening to the Stars

Part I: Physics from the Sun
Crafoord Laureate Douglas Gough, University of Cambridge, UK

Part II: Asteroseismology of evolved solar-like stars
Crafoord Laureate Jørgen Christensen-Dalsgaard, Aarhus University, Denmark

Part III: Asteroseismology of fast rotators
Crafoord Laureate Conny Aerts, KU Leuven, Belgium

Coffee break

Helioseismology with inertial modes

Laurent Gizon, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research and University of Göttingen, Germany

A high-resolution view of solar oscillations and waves

Jaime de la Cruz Rodriguez, Stockholm University, Sweden

(Included for registered participants)

Internal structures of low-mass stars

Saskia Hekker, Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies, Germany

Intermediate-mass stars as physics laboratories

Margarida Cunha, Universidade do Porto, Portugal

The evolution of massive stars, single and binary

Hugues Sana, KU Leuven, Belgium

Insights into the interiors of massive stars

Georges Meynet, Geneva University, Switzerland

Coffee break

Understanding exoplanets through asteroseismology

Vincent Van Eylen, University College London, UK

The importance of asteroseismology in the study of the Milky Way as a galaxy

Andrea Miglio, Università di Bologna, Italy

Short break

Panel discussion
Diane Feuillet, Lund University and Andreas Korn, Uppsala University

Closing of Symposium
Sofia Feltzing, Chair of the Crafoord Prize Committee in Astronomy

The symposium is organised by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The event is free of charge and open to the public but registration is required. The symposium will also be live-streamed, on this wepbage and on Please note that registration is only required for participation in person.

The Crafoord Prize is awarded in partnership between the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation in Lund. The Academy is responsible for selecting the Crafoord Laureates.

Image: Adobe Stock Photos

Privacy Policy
When you register for an event at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Academy will process your personal data in order to organise the event. Read more in the Academy’s Privacy Policy (se link below)

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences occasionally records and photographs during its events. Photographs and video footage will be processed by the Academy and submitted to third parties for processing. Photographs and videos may also be used in our communication activities to provide information about the Academy’s activities in any of the digital and/or printed channels used by the Academy. If you do not consent to this or have other questions about our processing of personal data, please call us on +46 8 673 95 00, or email

Read more about how the Academy processes your personal data

Contact: Peter Brandén