The Crafoord Prize Lectures in Geosciences

Date: 2018-05-22

Time: 09:30 - 12:25

Address: Finngatan 2, Lund

Venue: Skissernas Museum

The official Crafoord Prize Lectures in honour of the Crafoord Laureates 2018.

Watch more Crafoord videos at our YouTube channel

The 2018 Crafoord laureates in Geosciences, Syukuro Manabe and Susan Solomon, are awarded for their fundamental contributions to climate research. Manabe has laid the foundation for modern climate models that allow us to predict the effects of atmospheric trace gases on Earth’s climate. Solomon has discovered the mechanisms behind the degradation of the protective ozon layer in the stratosphere and has been instrumental in bringing about effective regulations against chlorofluorocarbon (“freon”) use in order to reverse the process. The laureates’ lectures will be followed by a panel discussion. The 2018 Crafoord Prize Lectures will give us a fascinating insight into how we understand Earth’s climate system today and the minds of the most influential scientists forming this understanding.


The event is free of charge and open to the public but registration is required for all participants. 

The Crafoord Prize is awarded in partnership between the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation in Lund. The Academy is responsible for selecting the Crafoord Laureates.


Program Coordinator