"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

Crafoord Prize

Anna-Greta and Holger Crafoord´s Fund was established in 1980 and the first prize was awarded in 1982. The prize is intended to promote international basic research in the disciplines Astronomy and Mathematics, Geosciences, Biosciences (with particular emphasis on ecology) and Polyarthritis (e.g. rheumatoid arthritis).

The Crafoord Prize in Mathematics 2016 and The Crafoord Prize in Astronomy 2016

The next Crafoord Prize, in Mathematics and in Astronomy, will be announced in January 2016.

The Crafoord Prize in Biosciences 2015

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2015 Crafoord Prize in Biosciences to Richard Lewontin, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA, and Tomoko Ohta, National Institute of Genetics, Mishima, Japan, “for their pioneering analyses and fundamental contributions to the understanding of genetic polymorphism”.

Press release
Popular Science Background (pdf)

Crafoord Days 2015

The Crafoord Days 2015 were celebrated in Stockholm and Lund from 5 to 7 May with Prize symposium, Prize lecture and the Prize award ceremony at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in the presence of Their Majesties the King and Queen of Sweden. The symposium and lectures were webcast live and are now available as video on demand at KVATV and the Crafoord Prize website. You can also find video from previous Crafoord Days.

Watch the lectures at KVATV
(search for Crafoord)

Prize disciplines

The prize disciplines have been chosen so as to complement those for which the Nobel Prizes are awarded. The prize is awarded in one discipline each year in accordance with a set scheme:

  • Astronomy and Mathematics
  • Geosciences
  • Biosciences
  • Astronomy and Mathematics

The prize in polyarthritis is awarded only when a special committee has shown that scientific progress in this field has been such that an award is justified.

Nominating and awarding

The Academy invites scientists from all over the world to nominate candidates for the prize. Nominations are submitted to the Academy during the spring prior to the year in which the decision is to be made. The nominations received are then rewieved and assessed by a Prize Committee consisting of members from the appropriate Academy classes.

The Crafoord Prize Laureate in mathematics 2008 Edward Witten. Photo:Andrea Westerdahl/KVAThe prize should be awarded to one recipient, but may, if necessary, be divided among up to three recipients. At the same time, grant allocations are announced, and may be applied for both by individuals and by institutions. Grant applications can be made for scientific equipment and research, publication of scientific works, scientific conferences and symposia, studies outside of Sweden for Swedish researchers, and activities to further research within the field of research covered by the prize.

On the basis of reports from the Prize Committee and the appropriate Academy Class, decisions concerning prizewinner(s) and grant recipients are made by the Academy in the spring of the year in which the prize is to be awarded.