"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

Crafoord Prize

Anna-Greta and Holger Crafoord´s Fund was established in 1980 and the first prize was awarded in 1982. The prize is intended to promote international basic research in the disciplines Mathematics and Astronomy, Geosciences, Biosciences (with particular emphasis on ecology) and Polyarthritis (e.g. rheumatoid arthritis).

Crafoord Days 2016

The Crafoord Days 2016 were celebrated in Stockholm and Lund from 24 to 26 May with Prize symposiums, Prize lectures and the Prize award ceremony at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in the presence of H.M. the King of Sweden. The symposiums and lectures were webcast live and are now available at the Crafoord Prize website, along with abstracts and press photos. There you can also find video from previous Crafoord Days.

Crafoord Days 2016 at the Crafoord Prize website

The Crafoord Prizes in Mathematics and Astronomy 2016

Illustrations: Anna-Lena Lindqvist, Lindqvist Grafik & InfoDesign AB.The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Mathematics to Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA, “for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena”, and the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy to Roy Kerr, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand, and Roger Blandford, Stanford University, CA, USA, “for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences”.

Press release
Popular Science Background, Mathematics (pdf)
Popular Science Background, Astronomy (pdf)

Prize disciplines

The prize disciplines have been chosen so as to complement those for which the Nobel Prizes are awarded. The prize is awarded in one discipline each year in accordance with a set scheme:

  • Mathematics and Astronomy
  • Geosciences
  • Biosciences
  • Mathematics and Astronomy

The prize in polyarthritis is awarded only when a special committee has shown that scientific progress in this field has been such that an award is justified.

Nominating and awarding

The Academy invites scientists from all over the world to nominate candidates for the prize. Nominations are submitted to the Academy during the spring prior to the year in which the decision is to be made. The nominations received are then rewieved and assessed by a Prize Committee consisting of members from the appropriate Academy classes.

The Crafoord Prize Laureate in mathematics 2008 Edward Witten. Photo:Andrea Westerdahl/KVAThe prize should be awarded to one recipient, but may, if necessary, be divided among up to three recipients. At the same time, grant allocations are announced, and may be applied for both by individuals and by institutions. Grant applications can be made for scientific equipment and research, publication of scientific works, scientific conferences and symposia, studies outside of Sweden for Swedish researchers, and activities to further research within the field of research covered by the prize.

On the basis of reports from the Prize Committee and the appropriate Academy Class, decisions concerning prizewinner(s) and grant recipients are made by the Academy in the spring of the year in which the prize is to be awarded.