"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"


Each year, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards the Nobel Prizes in Physics and Chemistry and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, but also many other prizes in recognition of distinguished achievements. Mostly to researchers, but sometimes to teachers, writers and translators. Read more about our prizes at the menus to the left.

The Crafoord Prizes in Mathematics and Astronomy 2016

Illustrations: Anna-Lena Lindqvist, Lindqvist Grafik & InfoDesign AB.The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Mathematics to Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University, CA, USA, “for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena”, and the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy to Roy Kerr, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand, and Roger Blandford, Stanford University, CA, USA, “for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences”.

Press release
Popular Science Background, Mathematics (pdf)
Popular Science Background, Astronomy (pdf)