Four new members elected to the Academy

At the General Meeting on 16 January Torsten Åkesson, Lund University, Per Molander, Swedish Social Insurance Inspectorate, Johan Rockström, Stockholm University, and Kjell Jonsson, Umeå University, were elected members of the Academy.

Swedish members

Class for physics

Torsten Åkesson is Professor of Particle physics at the Department of Physics, Lund University, Sweden.

Torsten Åkesson, Lund University

Class for humanities and for outstanding services to science

Per Molander is Director-General at the Swedish Social Insurance Inspectorate.

Per Molander, The Swedish Social Insurance Inspectorate

Johan Rockström is Professor of Environmental Science with Emphasis on Water Resources and Global Sustainability at Stockholm University, Sweden, and Executive Director of Stockholm Resilience Centre.

Johan Rockström, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Kjell Jonsson is Professor in History of Science and Ideas and Pro-Vice-Chancellor at Umeå University, Sweden.