"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"



  • 17 researchers receive funding from Sweden’s most ambitious programme to support mathematicians

    2015-03-26 Press release: The Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation in collaboration with the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences have decided to strengthen Swedish research in Mathematics. The aim is for Sweden to regain a position at the international cutting edge. Approximately SEK 200 million will be made available over a six-year period.
  • Four prominent Swedish researchers are the first Wallenberg Clinical Scholars

    2015-03-25 Press release: The Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation is investing almost SEK 600 million over a ten-year period in the research programme Wallenberg Clinical Scholars. The first researchers to receive funding are: Peter Andersen, Umeå University, Anna Wedell, Karolinska Institutet, and David Erlinge and Martin L. Olsson, both at Lund University.
  • Five new members elected to the Academy

    2015-03-13 News: At the General Meeting on 11 March, Maria Falkenberg, University of Gothenburg, Dan I. Andersson, Uppsala University, Gunnar C. Hansson, University of Gothenburg, Katarina Le Blanc, Karolinska Institutet and Jan Nilsson, Lund University, were elected Swedish members of the Academy.


  • More standardised research needed to clarify effects of reindeer grazing

    2015-02-23 News: Views on how reindeer affect vegetation in mountain areas have varied over time. EviEM, the Mistra Council for Evidence-Based Environmental Management, has collated existing knowledge in this area. Its review shows that research needs to be more standardised if it is to answer questions about the impacts of reindeer grazing.
  • Professor of Mathematics new Swedish member

    2015-02-17 News: At the General Meeting on 11 February, Hans Ringström, Professor of Mathematics at KTH Royal Institute of Technology, was elected Swedish member of the Academy's Class for mathematics.
  • Paul Shrivastava named Executive Director of Future Earth

    2015-02-13 News: The International Council for Science (ICSU), on behalf of the Science & Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability, have announced the appointment of Paul Shrivastava as Executive Director of Future Earth.


  • Two new members elected to the Academy

    2015-01-21 News: At the General Meeting on 14 January, Peter Fredriksson, Professor of Economics at Stockholm University, and Peter Hedström, Professor of analytical sociology at Linköping University, was elected Swedish members of the Academy's Class for social sciences.
  • The Crafoord Prize in Biosciences 2015

    2015-01-15 Press release: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2015 Crafoord Prize in Biosciences to Richard Lewontin , Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA, and Tomoko Ohta , National Institute of Genetics, Mishima, Japan
  • The prize amount for the Crafoord prize has been increased to 6 million Swedish krona

    2015-01-10 Press release: The Crafoord Prize is an international scientific price awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences annually according to a rotating scheme. The prize amount of SEK 6 million makes the Crafoord prize one of the world´s largest scientific prizes. This years prize will be announced on 15 January, at 6 am CET.
Kungl. Vetenskapsakademien