



How do we assess scientific quality?

Speakers



Photo: ERC communication unit



Photo: Sophie Kalckar



Photo: Thomas S G Farnetti



Photo: Magnus Bergström

Professor **Jean-Pierre Bourguignon** is the President of the European Research Council since January 2014. For most of his career he was employed by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS). In this capacity he was the Director of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (IHÉS) from 1994 to 2013. He also held a Professor of Mathematics position at École polytechnique from 1986 to 2012.

Professor Liselotte Højgaard is Professor in Medicine and Technology at University of Copenhagen and the Head of Department of Clinical Physiology, Nuclear Medicine & PET at Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen. She was the Chair of the Danish National Research Foundation 2013-2018 and is presently a member of the Board of Directors of the Novo Nordisk Foundation, Denmark.

Dr **Chonnettia Jones** is Director of Insight and Analysis at Wellcome Trust, London, an independent global foundation. She has more than twenty years of experience in science research, strategy and evaluation in government and philanthropic sectors. She is currently responsible for providing strategic leadership to maximize the impact of the achievements and opportunities that arise from Wellcome's funded research and strategic initiatives.

Professor **Göran Sandberg** is the Executive Director of the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation. He holds positions as Professor in Plant Physiology at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences and Umeå University from 1989, and he was the Vice Chancellor of Umeå University 2005–10

BOX 50005, SE-104 05 STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN, RECEPTION +46 8 673 95 00, BESÖK/VISIT: LILLA FRESCATIVÄGEN 4A, STOCKHOLM, KVA@KVA.SE * WWW.KVA.SE







Photo: Philip Bartz für VolkswagenStiftung

Professor **Thomas Sinkjær** was appointed Senior Vice President of Grants & Prizes in January 2018 at the Lundbeck Foundation. He came from a position as Director of Research at Villum Fonden and, from 2007 to 2015, he was Director of the Danish National Research Foundation. Until 2006 he was Professor and Head of the Centre for Sensory-Motor Interaction at Aalborg University. He is an elected member of several professional organizations, including The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.

Dr Wilhelm Krull is the Secretary General of the Volkswagen Foundation, Germany. He is also the Chair of the Board of the Foundation Georg-August-Universität Göttingen and the Chair of the Board of Regents of several Max Planck Institutes and an advisor to various national and internationalorganisations.

Panelists



Professor Helena Edlund is Professor in Molecular Developmental Biology at Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine at Umeå University.



to: Markus Marcet

Professor Hans Ellegren is vice President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and Chair of the Academy's Research Policy Committee. He is Professor in Evolution Ecology at Uppsala University since 1998.









Markus Marcetio

Professor Lars Hultman is since 2013 the CEO of The Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research, SSF, and professor in Thin Film Physics at Linköping University.

Professor Arne Jarrick is Professor in History at Stockholm University. He has been vice President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and Chair of the Academy's Research Policy Committee.

Professor Klas Kärre holds a Chair in Molecular Immunology at Karolinska Institutet since 1993. He became a member of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine in 2006 and acted as its chairman 2009 -2011, and he is the Chair of the of the Scientific Committee of the Swedish Cancer Society.



Photo: Malin Norlén, Cancerfonden

oto: Markus Marceti





Photo: Erik Thor/ Young Academy of Sweden

Associate Professor Jonas Olofsson is a Wallenberg Academy Fellow and a member of the Board of the Young Academy of Sweden. He is the Director of the Sensory Cognitive Interaction Laboratory at the Department of Psychology, Stockholm University.





Photo: Mikael Wallersted

Professor **Mia Phillipson** is a Wallenberg Academy Fellow. She is Professor in Physiology at the Department of Medical Cell Biology at Uppsala University. She is the spokesperson for research policy for the Young Academy of Sweden.



Photo: Niklas Björling



Professor **Britt-Marie Sjöberg** is the Chief Executive Officer of the Wenner-Gren Foundations and Professor in Molecular Biology at Stockholm University.



General of the Swedish Research Council. He is also Professor in Computational Physics at Linköping University.

Professor Sven Stafström is since 2014 the Director



Photo: Anna-Karin Landin

Professor **Astrid Söderbergh Widding** is since 2013 the President of Stockholm University and Professor in Cinema Studies at the same University since 2000. She is chair of the Association of Swedish Higher Education Institutions, retiring chair of the Principals Council of the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, as well as member of the Board of Stockholm Environment Institute.





Photo: Erik Thor/ Young Academy of Sweden



Photo: Mattias Pettersson

Associate Professor **Maria Tenje** is a Wallenberg Academy Fellow at the Department of Engineering Sciences, Uppsala University. She is the Chair of the Young Academy of Sweden.

Professor **Gunnar Öquist** is Professor emeritus in Plant Physiology at Umeå University. He served as the Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences 2003-2010 and as the main secretary of the Natural Sciences Research Council (NFR) 1993-1999. He has been a member of the Board of the Danish National Research Foundation. He is an Honorary Member of the Young Academy of Sweden.

Moderator



Photo: Hedda Krutmeijer

Moderator of this symposium is **Eva Krutmeijer**. As a senior science communicator she is engaged in several projects in the intersection of research, innovation and sustainable development. After a position as head of the information department at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, she has continued her career in her own business, as founder of EKKO AB. Her strong engagement combined with a long experience in the academic world is her hallmark as a moderator.