"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

Press room

Welcome to the Academy's press room. Here, we publish the latest information for media about current and coming press activities.

Announcements of Nobel Prizes 2016

Time and date for the announcements of the 2016 Nobel Prizes and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel is set to the first week of October 2016.

Time and date are set for the yearly announcements of the Nobel Prizes in Physics and Chemistry as well as the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. The announcements, that are followed by a press conference, are to be held the first week of October. More information and registration for accreditation available from the beginning of September.

  • Nobel Prize in Phsyics– 4 October at 11.45 CET at the earliest.
  • Nobel Prize in Chemistry – 5 October at 11.45 CET at the earliest.
  • Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel – 10 October at 11.45 CET at the earliest.

Crafoord Prize laureates lectures in Lund 24 May

The Crafoord Prize 2016 is awarded to three top scientists for groundbreaking contributions to science. Two laureates share the prize in astronomy and one laureates receives the prize in mathematics. The Crafoord Days includes two symposia, one in each scientific field. Two prize lectures is also to be held by the laureates in Lund. There is also the opportunity for individual interviews with the exciting award winners.

Kerr, Blandford, Eliashberg photo: University of Canterbury photographers, Stanford University, MIttag-Leffler

When: May 24, 2016, 09:30 to 14:15

Where: Lund University, auditorium, student union building LTH, John Ericssons väg 3, Lund

Please contact the press officer Hans Reuterskiöld for scheduled individual interviews Monday 23 May. 

Full press release

Read more

Millions in funding for matematicians

Fifteen prominent mathematicians will receive funding to bring Swedish mathematics research back to the international top.
Since 2014, the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences have supported mathematics research in Sweden through the Program for Mathematics. The aim of the program is that Sweden will retake a top international position in the field.

Read the press release

Read more 

The Lancet publishes letter from the Academy

 In a letter to the editor published in The Lancet 22 February, Secretary General Göran K. Hansson and the Chairman of the Class for medical sciences Lena Claesson-Welsh provide important information relating to a paper published in The Lancet in 2011. The paper presented the result of a tracheobronchial transplantation with an artificial trachea, performed by Paolo Macchiarini at Karolinska University Hospital.  The editor at the Lancet has also commented on the Academy statement on the Macchiarini-case. 

Read the letter

Read the comment


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences takes action against scientific misconduct

 The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided on a number of actions to combat deficiencies in the management of scientific misconduct and clinical research, which have been exposed through the controversy surrounding Paolo Macchiarini’s research. A new statement from the Academy presents, among other things, a demand that the previous enquiry into scientific misconduct is reopened.

Read the statement


The Crafoord Prizes in Mathematics and Astronomy 2016

Crafoord Prize 2016; Mathematics and Astronomy

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded to Yakov Eliashberg, USA, the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics “for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena” and awarded to Roy Kerr, New Zealand, and Roger Blandford, USA, the Crafoord Prize in Astronomy “for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences”.

Crafoord Days 24–26 may 2016 in Stockholm and Lund
Prize Lecture, Tuesday 24 May, Lund University, Lund.
Prize symposium, Wednesday 25 May, Stockholm. 
Prize ceremony, Thursday 26 May, Beijer hall, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm.

The Prize award ceremony is to be held at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on 26 May 2015, in the presence of Their Majesties the King and Queen of Sweden.

Meet the Laureates in Lund 23 May or in Stockholm the 25-26 in Stockholm. Please contact the Press Officer for interviews.

Read the pressrelease

Read the Mathematics popular science background

Read the astronomy popular science background


Pressansvarig/Press Officer
Tel+46 8 673 95 44
Mobil +46 70 673 96 50
Mail: hans.reuterskiold@kva.se