"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"

Rolf Schock Prizes

In his will, Dr. Rolf Schock, who died in 1986, specified that half of his estate should be used to fund four prizes in the fields of logic and philosophy, mathematics, the visual arts and music.

The Rolf Schock Days 2014

During the Rolf Schock Days there will be two Prize symposia at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences:

21 October
The Rolf Schock Prize symposium in logic and philosophy

23 October
The Rolf Schock Prize symposium in mathematics

The Prize symposium in mathematics will be broadcast live here at kva.se and will later be published as video on demand at KVATV.

Latest prizes (2014)

Rolf Schock Laureates 2014: Derek Parfit (Logic and Philosophy) photo: Gerard Vong, Yitang Zhang (Mathematics) photo: Lisa Nugent/UNH Photographic Services, Herbert Blomstedt (The Musical Arts) photo: Martin Lengemann, Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal (The Visual Arts) photo: Stiftung HfG Ulm

“for his ground-breaking contributions concerning personal identity, regard for future generations and analysis of the structure of moral theories”

“for his spectacular breakthrough concerning the possibility of an infinite number of twin primes”

“for his invariably enlightened musical performances, which he imbues with insightful humanism and a compelling depth of emotion; for his ability to create meaningful musical contexts in his interpretations that touch music lovers across the world; and for his great generosity towards younger generations of musicians and conductors”

“for their sensitive and reflective efforts emphasizing voices of the locale while simultaneously marking it with a distinct signature; in a forward-looking manner they engage dialogues with users and residents and acknowledge the value of keeping and developing that which already exists”

Press release

Nominating and awarding

The prizes in logic and philosophy and in mathematics is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, and those in the visual arts and music by the Royal Academy of Fine Arts and the Royal Swedish Academy of Music respectively.

Beginning in 1993, prizes are awarded every three years. In years when awards are made, proposals are made by special prize committees within each academy. The laureates are chosen at plenary sessions of the academies in the spring, and the prizes are awarded at a joint ceremony in the autumn.

Kungl. Vetenskapsakademien