"to promote the sciences and strengthen their influence in society"
News 2011-12-31

Five prominent researchers elected to the Academy

At the General Meeting on 9 November 2011 Leif Groop, Professor at Lund University, Magnus Berggren, professor at Linköping University, Danica Kragic Jensfelt, professor at Royal Institute of Technology, Kari Alitalo, professor at University of Helsinki, Finland and Fred H. Gage, professor at The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, USA, were elected members of the Academy.

Swedish members

Class for medical sciences

Leif Groop is Professor of Endocrinology at the Department of Clinical Sciences, Lund University.

Class for engineering sciences

Magnus Berggren is professor of Organic Electronics at the Department of Science and Technology, Linköping University.

Danica Kragic Jensfelt is professor of Computer Science at the School of Computer Science and Communication, Royal Institute of Technology.

Foreign members

Class for medical sciences

Kari Alitalo is Professor at the Molecular Cancer Biology Program, University of Helsinki, Finland.

Fred H. Gage is Professor at Laboratory of Genetics, The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, USA.